Week 2 (Two Weeks Later)

Dear Reader,

As you probably noticed, it has been a while since the last promised post.

Rather than giving three lines of text to furnish your mind-space with ample reasons to excuse my tardiness, I’ve decided to jump right back in.

Without further ado, I give you Week 2!

As I contemplated the best way to start this post, I realized that you must be hungry for some rich description. Trite text simply won’t do. So how about some TOTALLY INCONSPICOUS and DISTRACTING photos!!! ūüėÄ

Let’s start with a guessing game: What is… this???

 

20160712_113258

(Enlarged to show texture)

¬†I’ll give you a hint: It’s not clouds.

Yeah. That’s when most people get stumped and give up.

OK, how about another hint?

When you are in Brazil and you buy it hot and fresh, it get tossed inside of this:

20160712_073244[1]

(The silhouette is another clue)

Anyone? ANYONE?

If you still don’t know, click here¬†for the¬†unboxing video. If you guessed right, parabens!

Admittedly, most citizens of the US of A are not too familiar with pao frances. But something that most Americans are familiar with is cold weather. And for a minute there, even though I was in Brazil, I felt like I was in my own backyard.

Behold, HAIL IN JULY!!!

 

The last time it snowed in Curitiba was July 2014 (when I was there). ¬†Being that¬†both events (snow and hail being extremely rare) happened in July, the simple deduction that the American summer is actually the Brazilian winter is warranted. Due to the difference in hemisphere and latitude, it is supposed to be cold in Brazil in July. And for the most part, it was. That is… it was cold in the evening.

During the day, the weather during my trip started around 75 degrees, and it was supposed to cool down. Except it didn’t. The warm weather has stuck around. This whole second week the weather has stayed a nice 70-something. Actually, one day it made it up to just past 80.

All this to say, while it did get cloudy a day here and there, and nights were always around 40 degrees, the weather was exceptionally warm for this time of year.

No complaints from me! I’m glad that my winter¬†experience (or “XP”¬†to all you Pokemon masters out there) in Curitiba¬†was warmer than it’s ever been before.

So… what did I EAT this week???

ūüėÄ

Check out this “meal mosaic” and you’ll get an idea.

 

Starting from the top, moving left to right and heading down the line, we have…

1) canned caju (cashew fruit) in heavy syrup enjoyed with creme de leite, 2) my favorite Brazilian chocolate puffed cornball cold cereal, 3) picanha flavored potato chips (which recently hit the shelves in the US)¬†*see Week 1 post for beef cut information*, 4) beaten egg whites used to me¬†suspiro, sweetened and dusted with chocolate powder, and¬†5) passion fruit mousse which, in my book, is always a welcome “over table“.

 

20160717_152840

Sunshine selfie!!!

 

I’m in the mood for another game. You too? Really? Great!!!

This time I will make it more simply: I will show you the food and then ask you to identify it. Easy, right?

You tell me. ūüėČ

 

20160717_125230

 

Relax. I am concerned with the bright-colored fruit, not the canine. This is Brazil we’re talking about. The dog was just photobombing.

OK. Now that that is out of the way…

NAME THAT FRUIT!

Curious about the answer? Then I guess you have to PM me. ūüôā

After a few days with friends, I made my way to JOCUM (JOvems Com Uma Missao) / YWAM (Youth With A Mission), where I stayed the rest of the week visiting with missionary contacts that I’ve made over the years.

 

20160717_223051

The boys dormitory, one door down from where I slept during my ETED/DTS.

 

While at the base, I was able to see the new building for Projeto Esperanca (Hope Project) made from containers using money from international donors.

 

20160714_110003

This building contains classrooms for English and Music classes as well as a library.

 

I have visited the base many times over the last 15 years, and I have always made sure to say hi and give a hug to Regina S.

 

20160714_110104

 

Through Sheltering Wings, my family has supported Regina and the Hope Project, which helps needy children in the¬†region. Regina visited my family back in 2006, when we had an ice storm more severe than anything I’d ever seen before.

 

Ice tree!!!

A photo of the 2006 Ice Storm in St.Louis. Pretty cool, eh?

 

Needless to say, seeing Regina this time around right after having hailstones put me in a nostalgic mood.

And what better thing to feed nostalgia then a picture of pictures!

20160714_110227

 

These pictures hang in the main corridor of the new building. The photos show supporters of the Project over the years. It was humbling when Regina showed me that one of the pictures was of my family.

Supporting good works like this one is a reward in itself. But to have people thank us and honor us in such a way is truly precious. Thank you!!!

Before I finish this post, I want to show that my American readers are truly missing out.

In earlier posts, I have talked about how international¬†McDonald’s restaurants have a different and in many ways superior menu than that of the American counterpart. It is no great surprise, then, that the same is true of¬†Burger King in other countries.
20160718_104245

 

Now, I realize that you can order a BK Quad Stacker (labeled Mega Stacker 4.0) in the US.
In fact, in the States the BK Quad Stacker in it’s featured form (not it’s final form, mind you, that would be this)¬†is quite a mouthful.¬†With soda and fries, I can only finish half the burger (those familiar with¬†my eating capabilities must¬†admit that it is a sizable burger).

So yeah, we got it good in the US.

Meanwhile in ARGENTINA

BK Stacker 5iver.png

Five. They put FIVE patties on their BK stackers!

 

 

I don’t know what else to say.

 

What else IS THERE TO SAY?

 

Nothing.

 


Moral of the story = Travel more. Your menu options open up that way.

Leave a Reply

