Week 1 – Back in Action

It has been about a week since my last post, and I am happy to say that I have eaten a lot of food and seen a lot of relatives in that time.

So bring on the juicy details!

I have not been shy about sharing how I will skip picanha (choice beef, one of the most expensive cuts) in favor of linguiça (Brazilian pork sausage).

Picanha

Picanha comes from the the sirloin/rump cut with a cap of fat on top.

Pork Cuts

Linguiça comes from the… hmm… does anyone really know?

20160707_214154.jpg

Dom do ceu, a linguiça que o Tio Tony faz. 🙂

I am happy to report that the cold weather has still not yet arrived. I am enjoying 75-degree weather during the day. And the nights have been briskly cool as I lie underneath layers of blankets and comforters.

Thankfully, I am blessed with blankets, unlike many of the people who sleep exposed in the nearby parks or in the streets.

Being that the cold weather does reveal its stoic face and long-reaching fingers around 10:00 pm, I thought it appropriate to plan accordingly by warming my insides.

Quentao - Legenda

Quentão is a drink usually served with alcohol. It is supposed to be made with wine, cinnamon, cloves, and either orange or ginger. People like me elect to swap wine for suco de uva integralsem adição de açúcar ou conservantes.

Those who follow my Facebook posts know that I am a juice snob.

So, yeah… Aliança is the brand I like in Brazil.

Suco Alianca

But even grape juice, naturally sweet though it is, needs a little touch of something after being combined with cloves and ginger. That little touch, my friends, is often given in the form of gemada.

To understand the logic behind the name gemada, one must remember that common summer drink, “lemonade”. In Portuguese, it is called limonadaLimon is “lime/lemon”, and –ada is the English equivalent to “-ade”. You could say, then, that an “-ade” is a drink made from sugar and another ingredient. In the case of lemonade, it is “something to drink made from lemon and sugar”. Think “cherryade” or “limeade”, and you’ll get the idea.

Following the same train of thought, the meaning of gemada can be deduced by parsing the word’s parts. Gema is “egg yolk” and -ada is “a sugary drink”.  Hence, gemada is a sugary drink… made from raw egg yolk???

Yeah, pretty much. Crack a couple eggs, separate the yolks from the whites, and then beat the yolks with a generous helping of sugar crystals, and you have yourself a creamy and sticky solution that is both delectable and worthy of Rocky Balboa on “cheat day”.

rocky-drinks-raw-eggs-o

But you don’t drink gemada by itself. It is meant to accompany quentão, and as shown in the photo above the head of the Italian Stallion, the combination is quite delightful.

It might sound like a weird combination. In fact, it might sound downright repulsive to many of my readers. Sort of like the mashed avocado I enjoyed today with sugar crystals and powdered milk. But hey, I like it.

20160711_150257

What can I say? “It’s nice!”

The next cuisinart that I experienced was something totally normal.. e bem nostalgico ao mesmo tempo. 

20160709_114350

Honey yogurt (with fat, graças a Deus) with raisins and granola

About 3 years ago I enjoyed the same treat. And it brought back memories. Good times. 🙂

And of course, I am daily reminded of rice and beans, my constant companions through thick and thin.

20160708_192448.jpg

CHEGA DE COMIDA, CAIO!!!

Calma. Chega de comida, você falou? Ta bom, vamo ver foto de pessoa então.

Now it’s time for people pictures. 🙂

Here’s me in my old stomping grounds:

Here’s Manuela (a daughter of family friends):

20160704_121156

Que fofo!

And here is Watoto:

Watoto is Swahili for “Children” and is the name of the organization that cares for orphans in Uganda and teaches them to sing to raise awareness for orphans around the world. I was able to see them perform at a church in Curitiba. Curious? Click here to get an idea what it was like.

It has been a pretty full week. Next week will probably also be full.

I look forward to it.

Until next time!

One thought on “Week 1 – Back in Action

Leave a Reply

