A New Season

It’s summer back home. But in Brazil, it’s winter.

Seeing as it is 75 degrees and uncharacteristically balmy for winter this far south, I can’t complain. They tell me the normal 50-degree weather will be here by the weekend.

So here I post the first post of a new season, a new phase of My Brazilian Summer (even if it is winter).

As some of you know, I am in Brazil for the next few weeks.

I’ve come to visit family and friends, take care of some business, and enjoy what I haven’t enjoyed in a long time.

But before I get to the present, how about I travel back to the past? Specifically, let me share about my trip to Brazil this time around the mountain.

Leg One (Primeira Parte) – STL to MIA

I took a smooth flight to Miami and was greeted by a sunset.

After getting off the lane, I was reunited with a friends of the family (umas pessoas que eu chamo de primo, viu) who graciously let me stay in their home for a day or two while I waited for my economical flight to Sao Paulo. Lucky for me, the apartment had a pool. 🙂

20160630_182612

Very nice on a hot day. 6 feet deep, too!

Also, there was a Publix across the street. Those of you who don’t live in the Southeastern USA probably haven’t heard of the premium ice creams housed in these exceptional supermarkets. What am I rambling on about? Chocolate Trinity.

Chocolate Trinity

eh isso ai irmao!

But before long it was time for me to leave the comfort of leftover ice cream and chlorine water.

Leg Two (Segunda Parte) – MIA to GRU

 I packed my bags and arranged for a ride to airport. And then I waited.

And waited…                               And waited…                               And waited…

Yep. The plane was delayed (ja sabia, neh). E como nao tinha outra coisa pa fazer

aproveitei tirar foto bonita dai. 

The worst part was that even though I had all this extra time in airport, I wasn’t able to keep a traveling tradition very dear to me. The thing that I do every time I leave the country and almost every time I go on a long flight: Eat at TGI Friday’s

20160701_164845

See that red circle toward the bottom right? That’s me.

Tava justamente no outro lado do aeroporto! To get to the restaurant and complete the traveling ritual, I would have had to go through security 4 times and travel to and from the furthest terminals in the airport. Needless to say, I didn’t have the energy for it. So I contented myself with a Cuban sandwich and a strawberry yogurt parfait. Virgula!

Eventually (after the crew had taken their sweet time), it was “all aboard” our Boeing 777.

As you might imagine, I wasn’t in the best mood when we finally started boarding. I had a connecting flight in Brazil once I arrived at Guarulhos International Airport, and I didn’t feel like missing it because flight staff had not had time to catch some shuteye.

Amazingly, the conditions on the flight were probably the best I have ever had.

Why?

  1. I had an aisle seat (pra quem eh pernalonga sem ser coelho, isso eh bem legal)
  2. I had a window seat (ninguem pegou a vaga ao meu lado)
  3. The food was a far sight better than AA (cappelletti e misto quente)
  4. The in-flight movie selection was pleasantly varied. (Homem-Formiga foi top!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All in all, it was a very comfortable flight.

Third Leg (Terceira Parte) – GRU to CWB

The next part of my journey was getting to Curitiba, my final destination. Except… well, remember how I said I was concerned about missing my connecting flight?

Yeah, I missed it.
homer-doh-squarered

The long and short of it is that, after running pell-mell all the way to baggage claim from the plane (stopping long enough only to pass through immigration), I had arrived too late to follow my original plans. So I applied for and procured a carta de atraso, which proved that my flight was delayed by the flight crew. This gave me the right to a free flight replacement. About three hours later, I was in front of the gate of my new flight.

Happy ending right?

Well, I guess it would have been… if that flight hadn’t been delayed as well (Falando serio, nao toh de brincation nao!)

Yet again, the Lord saw fit to bless me.

Notice anything special? The red pull bar, maybe?

That’s right, the airline (I will let you guess which one) gave Mr. Long Legs an exit seat!

I must be loved. 😉

Final Leg (Final) – Curitiba

After many hours of anticiation, I was happy to arrive at the highest rated airport in the country. And that is where I met one of my highest rated friends.

20160702_120314

Voce eh o cara!

William and I loaded the bags, I goofed off with my camera, and we were on our way!

 

And you know what made it a happy ending, no final das contas?

I took a long nap that day.

😛

 

It’s good to be back.

 

 

Leave a Reply

