Busy (The First “Ides” of 2014)

Greetings and Happy New Year!

If I was in any other Latin American country, I would say Feliz Navidad, Prospero Año y Felicidad“… but seeing as I’m in Brazil.  So… “Feliz ano novo!”

Since my last post, I have been busy.

 

I’ve been busy fishing.

In addition to catching a small fish (I threw it back), I also caught a tilapa at what Brazilians call a pesque-pague (Fish-Pay). You fish, and then you pay for what you catch. The tilapia, I did not throw back.

Image

The throw-back

Image

The one that didn’t get away

I’ve been busy enjoying myself in the countryside.

Witmarsum is “colony” west of Curitiba filled with the smell of money. Let me clarify that statement: because most locals raise pigs or sell farm-fresh milk, the smell of money, in this instance, is the smell of the animals that produce the money-bringing animal products. Think “cow pie” and you will have a good idea of what money smells like there.

Image

Turn here

I do have to say, however, the smell grows on you. We may resent all the crap we deal with “back home”, but the crap itself can be a reminder that we are home. And Witmarsum has become a place where I feel comfortable and at peace. And the rolling hills and fields of soybeans and corn… they remind me of home. Cow pies and all. It was a great time I had there these past weeks, visiting with friends.

Also, I’ve been busy meeting (or remeeting) relatives.

I am happy to say that got to visit relatives in Ponta Grossa, which is above Witmarsum (Northwest of Curitiba). While most of the people I met were older than half a century, that did not keep up from having meaningful conversation and a lot of laughs. It turns out that some “blonde jokes” can become “Portuguese jokes” by changing only a few words, so I was able to bring something to the table. 🙂

When it comes to my history, I was able to visit the school where my mother studied when she was very young. It was nice going there, seeing the building, and thinking about all the changes that she and her family underwent in between then and now.

Image

At my mom’s old school

I’ve been busy being published.

Well, that is only partly true.

I wasn’t published… just some words I edited. You see, last year I served as an editor for someone I’ve referred my readers to several times (Lindsey Mercer). And recently this same Ms. Lindsey successfully published Moxie, a story of adventure and personal growth. It is available in paperback and as an ebook on Amazon.com.

Follow the link, skim the reviews, give the book a chance. Think of it as purchasing of piece of Guatemala (where the story is set) with a little touch of Kyle along with it.

And yes, name is officially given credit, as you can see… below.

Screen shot 2014-01-15 at 11.33.53 PM

And finally, since this Monday, I’ve been busy being busy again.

That’s right, I began teaching again. However, my current job assignment will only go to the end of January, as it is an intensive class before semester classes begin in March.

So yeah, “busy” is the word around here.

Kyle

Leave a Reply

